Keeping Crossfit Humble: Accepting Defeat and Allowing Growth

After 15.1 and 15.1A, the open workouts, I took the night, Friday night, to analyze and measure my performance and the work I put into the workout, I didn’t feel like I gave my all and I decided to do it again.  I did it two days later and I only increased my score by two reps and I remained the same on the clean and jerk.  Honestly, I was a little unmotivated and upset with myself because I expected more.

After finishing the open workout for the second time.  Ripped hands!

After finishing the open workout for the second time. Ripped hands!

I have struggled with accepting defeat, self-defeat.  I have been doing crossfit since June 26, 2014—going on 9 months now and I expect myself to be next to the girls who have been exposed to crossfit for multiple years.  I decided yesterday after talking to one of my coaches (thanks Jamie), that I will accept this years’ open as a learning and growing experience.  I am still very much a “rookie”, though I have made leaps and bounds in my fitness, I need to be patient and I need to allow my body to grow and progress correctly.  This is why crossfit is such a humbling sport.  Each workout shows you where you need improvement and it allows you the chances to grow and progress.

With the help of the first open workout, I know that I need to step up my work on my toes to bar; I need to learn how to pace myself in a way that will allow me to create strong reps without wasting energy on no reps.  I know that I need to work on my clean form and work to eliminate my fear and mental block of the jerk.  Crossfit is a mental and physical sport, it is a sport that continues to push the limits of the human body, and only through continuous hard work and dedication can you truly excel.  This is why I love it.  It is a constant battle between what your body is telling your brain and what your brain is telling your body.

Crossfit is accepting defeat sometimes after doing an open workout, after losing a competition, after failing to get a PR, whatever can make you feel mentally and physically defeated. Each day is a miniature competition with yourself to do better than you did yesterday; to get that new and better PR, to get that new time on Fran. Sometimes your body just isn’t ready for that new PR or that new Fran time and you have to accept defeat, but you can also accept a growth mindset. You have to mentally allow yourself to grow by accepting that next time, after you’ve worked a little harder and put a little more time and effort in, you will succeed.

The thing that will help me, and maybe will help others out there, is instead of searching for greatness all of the time, embrace the little victories.  Think about where you started.  What were you good at and what weren’t you good at?  I think back to the first time I tried a toes-to-bar and a pull-up, needless to say it wasn’t successful nor was it at all graceful. But what I could be proud of were my doubleunders, so I found hope.  Here I am though, almost 9 months intocrossfit.  I can do both pull-ups and toes-to-bars and I am still killing doubleunders.  I have made serious progress and I have become better and stronger than the person I used to be. That is the little victory that should be mentally embraced.

Toes-to-Bar During the open workout. 15.1 and 15.1a

Toes-to-Bar During the open workout. 15.1 and 15.1a

Instead of reflecting on what could have been had you just “sucked it up” a little more, think of the journey and the obstacles you have had to overcome.  That’s what I have been doing and honestly, it has been a beautiful ride.

I have been vigorously reading the mentality WOD blog for helpful tips and tricks for being a mentally strong athlete! I recommend all of you to as well! It just goes to show that everyone is constantly working their mental game just as much as their physical game.

After talking to my sister about this issue she sent me a message (she’s in Africa, it’s all we have right now) and it really resonated within me. “Comparison is the death of joy.”  Remember why you do crossfit.  Remember why you love it.  Do it for you, for who you want to be both physically and mentally, do not do it to be the best—chances are you will fail.  Do it to be the best you.  If you do that, success will be the outcome. Good luck on your mental journey.

Does anyone ever feel like the mental game is almost harder than the WOD? Comment with your answer!

4 thoughts on “Keeping Crossfit Humble: Accepting Defeat and Allowing Growth

  1. Good article Danae! The mental game is a huge part of Crossfit for me. It can be a real struggle to push your body when your brain says “stop!”. Also, it takes a while to learn what your body will do when you try to push past what you think is your physical limit. I’m sure most people are very surprised at how far they can push if they get past the mental game. Rock on girlfriend!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Becoming a Fighter, not a Victim | The Crossfit Addiction

  3. Pingback: Sometimes Progression is Slow | The Crossfit Addiction

Leave a Reply

