Meal Prep Sunday’s

A lot of people think that because I meal prep on Sunday, I am the most dedicated person in the world.  They think that because I spend a couple of hours one day to create all of my meals for the week I am somehow less lazy than they are.  Well, the truth is I am probably the most lazy person, and that I why I meal prep.  I don’t know about you, but I hate cooking and the thought of making food every single night gives me nightmares.  I can’t do it.  I would resort to eat out because I know I can’t handle being in the kitchen or cooking for longer than I have to.

So I meal prep.  So I for this blog I am going to go through a Meal Prep with you.  I normally try to keep my cooking down to 2 hours because again… I hate cooking.

So for this week I went to the store and got a ton of food.

So I have (left to right) BSN protein and bananas, hard boiled eggs, carnitas, plum tomatoes, small artichokes, grass fed beef patties from Raleys, Arty's party rub, Avocados, Eggs, Bacon, and Go Go squeeze apple sauce.

So I have (left to right) BSN protein and bananas, hard boiled eggs, carnitas, plum tomatoes, small artichokes, grass fed beef patties from Raleys, Arty’s party rub, Avocados, Eggs, Bacon, and Go Go squeeze apple sauce.

For breakfast I typically eat 2 eggs, 2 pieces of bacon and I have a spoonful of almond butter and a tomato–not pictured. This is my go to because it is always delicious!

For lunch this week I am having a grass fed beef patty with Arty’s Party Rub, one small artichoke, and a tomato and 2 spoonful’s of almond butter. (You can never have enough)

For a snack, I always have a protein shake with 1 cup of almond milk, 1 banana and 1 scoop of protein.  I like to use my nutribullet to make it smooth and delicious.  My protein flavor right now is Vanilla Ice Cream by BSN… and it is SOOOOO GOOOD.

Finally for dinner, I have made a paleo BLT egg salad without scallions or garlic  and I bought some carnitas at Raley’s.  The carnitas are a little high in fat, but they are delicious!.

So now for the meal prep.  I started with the beef patties.  I coated them with some of Arty’s Party Rub.  Arty’s Party Rub was given to me by a classmate.  He was kind enough to make a Paleo Rub for me to try and it is delicious.  This is not the first time I have used it.  It gives meat just enough flavor that you don’t need to add additional sauces.  It is a paleo person’s dream.

Pre-Cooked Beef with a coating of Arty's Party Rub

Pre-Cooked Beef with a coating of Arty’s Party Rub

Placed into frying pan on medium heat for 5 minutes each side.  (Or until well done--how I like my burgers.)

Placed into frying pan on medium heat for 5 minutes each side. (Or until well done–how I like my burgers.)

While the patties were cooking I started on the Paleo BLT Egg Salad.  I bought hard boiled eggs from the store because if you have ever made your own, you understand why I didn’t feel like peeling my own eggs.  That is a nightmare.

So I cut up 6 hardboiled eggs and placed them into a bowl, and then I added a full avocado and then 5 pieces of bacon cut up and I add a pinch on Himalayan Sea Salt to taste.  After that, I basically mashed everything together until it looked ok.  I will probably make another batch of this in the middle of the week because the avocado makes the salad go from green to grey just because that’s what avocados do.  But it’s delicious and worth it.

Eggs cut up.

Eggs cut up.

Paleo BLT Egg Salad

Paleo BLT Egg Salad

Now that that was done, I started making the carnitas.  The carnitas was the easiest because I just followed the directions on the back.  I put it into the microwave for a grand total of 8 minutes.  And it came out looking like this.

Yummy CarnitasSo now the beef patties are done so I put them into their own separate containers for the week.  I only separate out my lunches because those are the only meals that I am going to take to and from work.  I will pack the tomato and artichoke separately because I hate cooked tomatoes and the artichoke will need to be cooked differently than the meat.

15 - 9And finally, after everything else is done, I started to steam the artichokes.

Artichokes!!I will cook all of my bacon for breakfasts as well, but I think you guys can guess how I do that.  I don’t cook the eggs until the morning I plan on eating them.  I just don’t like microwaved eggs– I have tried and decided I would rather wake up 5 minutes earlier than start my day off with a gross meal.

I thought I would leave you guys with an idea of what one meal would look like for me.  This is my dinner meal.  It consists of 3 oz. Carnitas, a scoop of paleo BLT egg salad– this is most of my protein, I normally eat 4 oz. of meat, but let the bacon and the eggs in the salad take the final ounce– a few cherry tomatoes to get some additional carbs, the avocado in the salad acts as my fats, and I ate one gogo squeeze apple sauce which will be about 2 block of carbs so that I have a total of 4 blocks for this meal.

3 ounces of Carnitas

3 ounces of Carnitas

Dinner meal! #full

So that’s my meal prep for the week.  I started cooking around 1pm and I finished and ready for the week around 2:40 PM.

I am the laziest person.  I meal prep because this is the only way I will cook for myself.  I make my life easier by buying things that don’t require a lot of maintenance.  I still eat delicious things.  Even though I eat paleo doesn’t mean I have lost my taste.

You can learn to meal prep too! For additional recipes scan pinterest or Mark’s Daily Apple— also most google searches come back with a lot of great ideas!

Let me know about your favorite meals to make!!!

Leave a Reply

