The Road to the 2016 Open Begins Now

Everyone who has already started training for the 2016 open say “Aye”… “Aye”… yep we have a long road ahead of us, but how awesome is it to have a light at the end of the tunnel to show us how much we have changed and developed over the year? I think that this is great.  And honestly, it’s fun being back to the weight and strength training in addition to the metcons!

Funny story, I recently had a conversation with a fellow crossfitter and he had mentioned that metcons are like crack to crossfitters… which is completely true because we like the short workouts that give us the same results as the long heavy workouts.  So for the remainder of this article I will be referring to metcons as “methcons”. (Get it— meth is a drug and metcons are drugs for crossfitters, it’s funny).

IMG_6245

Doing a Methcon Saturday.

Anyways, I personally have had a successful few weeks of PR’s for both benchmark workouts and barbell PR’s.  Does anyone else feel like crying when they hit a weight or beat a time they had mentally given themselves? It’s freaking exciting. Recently, I did “Diane” this benchmark contains 21-15-9 Deadlifts @ 155# and Hand Stand Push Ups.  During the open I struggled really really badly on 15.4—which contained HSPU’s.  This is one of my goats and I have actively been working on getting better at handstand walks, holds, and push-ups and last night I had given myself a time of 10 minutes to beat, because I had never done this workout before and because both deadlifts and HSPU are weaknesses.  I completed the workout in 8 minutes and 4 seconds.  I about started crying, I already feel the progression after only a month… and that is freaking exciting! I officially love that methcon!– “Randy” however… not my favorite… if you want to feel like you ran a marathon… grrr.

So as we continue to work and train for the next open let us make a pact that even on the days of failure and frustration  we will celebrate the moments of progression.  Let us take each workout for what it is, let us celebrate that our bodies are able to train and to perform.  Let us celebrate that we are mentally strong and willing to come back each workout and fight to be better than we were. Let us watch the regional’s and the games in awe of the athletes who have made it!

The road to 2016 is long and arduous.  Let’s make it memorable and lets be happy!

2 thoughts on “The Road to the 2016 Open Begins Now

  1. 2016, here we come! I’m always super stoked when I beat a previous PR or an “estimated” time that I think I will get on a given without.

    Like

Leave a Reply

