Scaling Up

Recently,  I have been on a mission to work out as hard as possible for as many days as possible.  You are probably thinking.. What?! This girl is crazy… Part of it probably has to do with the fact that next week I am taking a summer school class that will require me to be at school Monday thru Thursday from 5:30-9:45… so my thought process behind it is if I can work out as much as possible on the days that I don’t have class then I will be fine when I am only able to work out three times a week. I definitely haven’t followed the Invictus recommendation… going on 9 days in a row.. EEK.

Did you just read that though?  Last year around this time I was working out like zero times a week and now I am sad that I can only work out three days a week rather than the normal 5 or 6? This is what crossfit has done to me… I think if crossfit were a person, it would sing Mariah Carey’s “Obsessed” song to me.. because that’s what I am obsessed.

Anyways, so recently I have been trying to do all the workouts RX’d or RX’d+.  Scaling up (there is a discussion on this topic, check the link!) has been a real challenge mentally for me.  Just thinking about the additional weight or the taller box jumps gets to you. A couple of days ago we did a 20 minute partner AMRAP: 5 Burpees, 7 Box jump overs, 9 goblet squats (53/35) with each person alternating rounds.  Well, I teamed up with my coach because I need that extra push sometimes. I grabbed the 45# kettlebell for the goblet squats…

Goblet squats are the devil. Especially after maxing out your back squat the same day.

So we started the workout.  I started with the 20″ box jumps because I had already scaled up the goblet squats… until my coach changed the box… being someone who can’t handle being challenged and folding to peer pressure, I started doing 24″ box jumps… and not to long after that I found myself with this…

Ouch.

Ouch.

I didn’t stop when this happened because you have to keep going, you have to get over that fear of the box again.  I kept pushing. And the workout finished.  Thankfully.

Sometimes I need these reminders to tell me that I have improvement to make.  That I have to focus on the things that I am doing in the gym because when I get careless, I get hurt.  It also shows me that I can keep pushing myself.  Actually, it helps me eliminate the excuses I have for days I don’t put max effort in.

Does anyone else try and scale up just to fight their mental demons rather than their physical demons?

One thought on “Scaling Up

  1. Yes, I try to scale up sometimes even if it’s just for part of the workout. I think that once you get to a certain point you just have to push harder than the regular workout requires. It can build your confidence and strength for the next time you attempt a similar workout.

    Like

Leave a Reply

