Memorial Monday “Murph”

Most workouts create this inner dialogue within myself that sounds a lot like “this sucks” or “why do I keep coming back?” or “I like this right?” because you don’t feel the benefits of the workout until the endorphin rush after you finish. Today was different.

Boxes all over the country and even the world went out and did the Hero workout “Murph”.  This workout was created and named after Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy who was killed in Afghanistan at the age of 29. Actually, the movie “Lone Survivor” based off the book of the same name was written by the only survivor in the firefight that took Lieutenant Murphy’s life.  Murphy lost his life as he exposed himself to enemy gunfire when he made a call for reinforcements, even after being shot he signed off of the radio “Roger that, thank you.”

This workout was one of Murphy’s favorite, he named it “Body Armor”.  This is appropriate because in the crossfit description it states “if you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.” It consists of:

1 mile run

100 pull-ups

200 push ups

300 air squats

1 mile run

I broke up the body of the workout by doing 20 rounds of 5 pull-up, 5 push ups, 15 squats, 5 push ups.

Crossfit Regulus about to start "Murph"!

Crossfit Regulus about to start “Murph”!

Crossfit workouts are created in honor of these forgotten hero’s.  A lot of us support the troops and we are proud to be an american, but we often struggle with showing how to do that.   This is one of the ways we are able to honor those who have lost their lives by sacrificing for our and my freedom.

So today my inner dialogue lost its negativity and found purpose.  I was doing this workout for Murphy, for the memory of him, for the sacrifices he made, for the family that lost him, and for those who are doing what he had done.

Today was my first Memorial Day as a crossfitter and it was by far the best way I could have spent it.

How did you celebrate your Memorial Day?

2 thoughts on “Memorial Monday “Murph”

  1. I didn’t do Murph (knee injury) but I coached it. Made sure that everyone knew what we were there for. I find it fascinating that despite the fact that Lieutenant Murphy is from a pretty unpopular country notorious for military might, CrossFit boxes around the world partake in it every year. I suppose the community usurps political ideas and that’s awesome.

    Congrats on your first Murph day!

    Like

    • Thanks! It was great! I just think it’s so awesome that the crossfit community comes together for this. We had people who had never been to my gym come and workout because it was Murphday and they had to do it. I think it’s awesome that it’s just something we all know we have to do! How awesome is that!? Before every hero workout our coach goes through the story of hero–and each time I feel that much more dedicated to the workout! Good job for spreading that to your crossfitters!

      Like

Leave a Reply

